Introduction

19th April 2017

17758583_10156171018968916_7973321183884846167_oToday is the first day when I am left totally alone at home following my injury.

I was lucky enough to stay healthy and not need hospital treatment since I was 5. On that occasion, I had my tonsils removed. Then, I have been lucky for 30 years to escape being hospitalized, and I sincerely hope that I will be lucky for the coming decades. Now, as a grown up man, a father of two, a husband, a son, a son-in-law, and a business professional with more than a decade of work experience in fast paced multinational work environments: my life as I knew it, came to a sudden stop.

On April Fool’s Day 2017, my left ankle dislocated, and I suffered a “Weber C” type fracture, which required immediate operation on the same day, followed by a corrective surgery 5 days later and resulted in PDPH: all of which kept me hospitalized for 13 days in total. I decided to write, to try and share some of the learnings I make on this journey of learning to walk again. This is my story.

 


Leave a comment